My Favourite Festive Reads

HELLOOOO, DECEMBER! Wow, we’ve almost made it to the end of the year. As much as that’s a terrifying thought, it’s also something to be celebrated. We made it through 2019! I’m proud of you. Are you proud of me?

And that means that Christmas is almost here! While Halloween takes the cake for being my favourite holiday, Christmas is pretty cool as well. We get to watch Christmas movies on repeat, listen to Christmas songs while drinking our gingerbread lattes at Starbucks, and, of course, dig out our festive YA books for a quick reread.

So in the spirit of Christmas, today I thought I’d share my favourite festive reads with you all! If you’re looking for something to get you in the mood for this holiday season, I definitely recommend checking out these books.

16081588

Let it Snow

Ahh, if it isn’t the festive book that everyone’s currently talking about! And that’s because the Netflix adaptation recently dropped—and yes, I watched it last month. I know a lot of people save their Christmas movies for December, but I like to start early. Right after Halloween is the perfect time. I mean, we’re all going to die one day, so what’s the harm in celebrating a little early? I read Let it Snow so long ago that I can’t even remember it, but BOY was the film incredible. It’s everything I could have wanted in an adaptation: it was cute, it had a diverse cast, and it gave me all the feels. It’s the perfect book (and film!) to snuggle up with while you’re on the couch sipping a peppermint hot chocolate.


22914373

My True Love Gave to Me

If there’s one book I’ll reread religiously around Christmas, it’s My True Love Gave to Me. It’s just so perfect for the festive season! What’s great about this short story collection is that you can either spread them out and read one a day in the lead up to Christmas, or you can binge them all the night before to get you in the sprit. Whatever you decide to do, you’re going to love this adorable book. Plus, it’s got some of our favourite YA authors as contributors! If you haven’t read My True Love Gave to Me yet, you’re in for a treat.


Books Jay Asher

What Light

Christmas tree farms? A bad boy with a dark past? SIGN ME THE HECK UP. I read this book years ago when it first came out, but I really enjoyed it! While it’s not the type of book that has particularly stuck with me, I do remember really loving curling up with it in December with a nice tea. It’s hard not to fall in love with a book when they’re talking about Christmas trees and peppermint hot chocolates the whole time! I only wish it snowed in Australia during December (we’re stuck with all the gross hot weather. Bleh).


33843251._SY475_

The Afterlife of Holly Chase

Looking for a YA reimagining of A Christmas Carol? This book’s got you covered! (Shh… don’t tell anyone I actually have’t read the original.) I read this book for the first time last Christmas and it quickly became one of my absolute favourites. As soon as I finished reading it, I just wanted to go back to page one and start over! It’s such a beautiful story about redemption and what being a good person actually means, and yeah, there’s a pretty cute romance tossed into the story as well. If that gorgeous cover isn’t enough to convince you to read this book, let me spell it out for you: IT’S AMAZING.

lets-talk

Have you read any of these books? What are some of your favourite festive books? Will you be reading some this December? I’d love to know!

signature

3 thoughts on “My Favourite Festive Reads

  1. I’ve actually read and own all the books you mentioned except for what light by jay asher! I’m definitely going to check it out! I saw let it snow on netflix, and while the title of the movie was the same, I wasn’t completely sure that it was an adaptation of the book! I’m glad to hear that you liked the movie though! Great post xxx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

Leave a comment