Predicting My 20 Favourite Books of 2020

It is time to announce what I think my 20 favourite books of this year will be! Ahh! Looking through all the lists of upcoming releases for the year ahead is always one of my blogging highlights of the year, and I love predicting which ones I think will be my absolute favourites.

It’s always such a tough decision because there are so many fantastic books to be released, but I’ve forced myself to make some hard choices and nominate what I think my top 20 reads of 2020 are going to be. If you’re in need of some more books on your TBR this year, check out which ones I’m most eager to get to!

Infinity Son by Adam Silvera

Expected: January 14th

Adam Silvera is one of my absolute favourite authors! And this is his first fantasy book?! I CAN’T WAIT TO READ IT. Fingers crossed I love it just as much as I adored his other work!

Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

Expected: January 21st

I know almost nothing about this book, but it looks CUTE. I mean, surely the title is something to go by! I’m always here for an adorable contemporary story anyway.

Don’t Read the Comments by Eric Smith

Expected: January 28th

Hellooooo pretty new book by one of my favourite agents! This one also looks like a really fun contemporary that I can’t wait to devour in a single sitting. Plus, it’s about online life! Super relatable and relevant.

Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed

Expected: February 4th

Okay, I’m cheating with this one because I HAVE already read it — but I hadn’t when I made this list! I was eager to get my hands on it firstly because it’s written by my fave Becky Albertalli, but also because it looked super cute! No spoilers, but it was INCREDIBLE.

The Gravity of Us by Phil Stamper

Expected: February 4th

It’s QUEEEER. Yep, that’s basically why I’m so excited. This one has been getting quite a bit of hype too, so I can’t wait to see what I think of it. And that cover is GORGEOUS.

Of Curses and Kisses by Sanhya Menon

Expected: February 18th

I freaking love Sandhya Menon, and I can’t go past a good retelling! This one’s a Beauty and the Beast retelling set in a boarding school (I believe?) so obviously I need it in my life. Duh. It’s going to be amazing.

Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales

Expected: March 3rd

This is another one I’m lucky enough to have read already! Holy CRAP! I freaking loved it — it was queer and swoon-worth and the best way to kick off 2020. Highly recommend adding this one to your TBR!

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

Expected: March 3rd

BRB I’m just selling my soul to get a copy of this gorgeous book. Four Dead Queens was one of the most talked about books of 2019, and I can’t wait to see what Astrid has written next! I’ve heard teasers and it sounds freaking amazing. Gah! I need it now!

Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare

Expected: March 3rd

Ahh, of course I’m excited for the new Cassie Clare book. When am I not desperate to get my hands on her latest release? I’m definitely going to be that person who rings up my local bookstore every half hour on the release date to see if they have it yet. I HAVE A MIGHTY NEED.

Harley in the Sky by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Expected: March 10th

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again — Akemi Dawn Bowman is one of my favourite authors and she deserves so much more attention than her books have been getting. Super under-hyped over here! Get onto it! Her latest release is about a circus I believe, and gosh, I’m excited.

We Were Promised Spotlights by Lindsay Sprout

Expected: March 24th

I don’t know what this one is about exactly, but I think it’s going to be a super cute contemporary! BECAUSE WE ALL KNOW I NEED MORE OF THOSE IN MY LIFE. There’s nothing more satisfying to me than snuggling up in bed with a new contemp, sipping on my hot chocolate, and getting lost in a story.

Please Don’t Hug Me by Kay Kerr

Expected: April 28th

How cute is that cover?! Seriously, I’m in love. But that’s not the only reason why I’m looking forward to reading Please Don’t Hug Me! I’ve heard phenomenal things from the people who have already read this book, and I know I’m going to absolutely love it. Plus it’s #OwnVoices for autistic rep I believe!

Loveless by Alice Oseman

Expected: April 30th

I thought I was going to get to read this one back in 2019, but I was mistaken! Unfortunately this book’s release date has been delayed, but that’s only made me more excited to read it. Loveless is a book about an aro-ace girl and I’m so looking forward to reading another book with fab queer rep! Plus, Alice is just a phenomenal writer.

When it Drops by Alex Dyson

Expected: May 1st

I don’t know too much about this one, except that it’s #LoveOzYA and it’s (possibly?) about music. That’s all it takes to convince me to read it! I remember hearing a bit about it at an event in December and it sounded awesome, so on the TBR it went.

The Balled of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins

Expected: May 19th

Oooh I think this is going to be a controversial one! I’m such a massive fan of The Hunger Games and I’m not sure if this one will be able to live up to the hype, but I’m going to read it anyway. Duh. I NEED TO READ EVERYTHING SUZANNE COLLINS EVER WRITES. I’ll be interested to hear what you all think of this one as well!

The Year the Maps Changed by Danielle Binks

Expected: May 26th

OUR QUEEN DANIELLE BINKS IS RELEASING A BOOK THIS YEAR! Danielle is such a champion of #LoveOzYA and I’m so thrilled to be able to pick up her first MG book this year. There’s so much exciting Aussie content being released over the next 12 months! Ahh!

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Expected: June 9th

This is another book that I know next to nothing about, but I’m okay with that. I’m looking forward to going into this book blind and seeing how amazing it is — because boy, the hype is REAL. I think it’s queer and I think it’s fantasy, and I’m keeeeeen.

The Nobleman’s Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks by Mackenzi Lee

Expected: August 18th

A NEW BOOK BY MACKENZI LEE! THIS IS NOT A DRILL! I’m such Mackenzi Lee trash after falling head over heels for Monty and Percy in The Gentleman’s Guide, so obviously I have to read the book about Monty’s younger brother. Fingers crossed the OG gang have a few scenes in this book, if not more!

Skywatchers by Carrie Arcos

Expected: 2020

ALIENS?! POSSIBLY. That’s all I know! I’m trash for a good sci-fi book, particularly ones set on Earth about anticipating the end of the world or an approaching alien invasion, like Earth to Charlie and We Are the Ants. Hopefully this one is just as poignant and compelling.

Peta Lyre’s Rating Normal by Anna Whateley

Expected: 2020

Another exciting upcoming #LoveOzYA release! I don’t know too much about this one, but everyone in the #LoveOzYA community has been hyping this one up since it was announced. Gotta support our locals!

lets-talk

Are you excited for any of these books too? Which upcoming releases are at the top of your wishlist? I’d love to know!

signature

5 thoughts on “Predicting My 20 Favourite Books of 2020

  1. Love this post, Sarah!
    I’ve read a few of these already (am literally reading right now “Don’t Read The Comments”).
    I’m super looking forward to The Vanishing Deep, Loveless, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, Please Don’t Hug Me, and The Gravity of Us.
    I hope you enjoy the rest you haven’t read yet.
    💜

  2. Omg Sarah, our lists overlap so much!! I feel like I’m going to ADORE Tweet Cute (a twitter feud over grilled cheese?? SIGN ME UP) Also I loved Gentlemen’s Guide SO much, so I can’t wait to see what Lee does next. I have ARCs of Yes No Maybe So and Of Curses and Kisses on my shelf that I am SO hyped to get to. Great post!

  3. I already got to read Of Curses and Kisses and I’m sure you’ll love it! I’m looking forward to Chain of Gold, The Vanishing Deep, and The Kingdom of Back… they’re all March 3rd releases! Why??? There are so many great books coming out though.

Leave a comment